What African music being played on the radio??!!!

My friend Liz loves having icecream its her ‘peche mignon´ and when does ends up tempting all of us into getting one. So my friends and I were at this great ice cream place when we heard the guy serving us play Dbanj’s Oliver twist I was soo shocked I asked him to turn it up. My girlfriends and I then started dancing Azonto at once. Luckily the place was empty but for us, African music is really going global now. It took an eternity for the world to see that our music is that good.

Then yesterday in class our Spanish teacher was talking about a popular Spaniard film director Pedro Almodovar. She was shocked that we did not know him (P.S my class is full of chinese people and ghanaians so duh), he wrote this popular film called ‘Todo sobre mi madre’. I got to watch it yesterday on youtube and I was surprised to hear an old Senegalese song playing in it. With my general knowledge in African music I assumed it to be either Youssou Ndour or Ismael lo after research I found out it was Ismael lo’s “Tajabone”. His voice reminds me of Lokua Akanza, those who do not know him check him out. I love his music along with Tiken Jah!

Check out Tajabone:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YUWyUE6kqoU&NR=1&feature=endscreen

Tagged

2 thoughts on “What African music being played on the radio??!!!

  1. Feyi says:

    I love ur blog cherie! Even though I’m a bit clueless when u type long sentences in spanish !!!
    Besos !!♡♥♡♥♡♥♡♥

Leave a Reply

